Boston blizzard: Bryce + Blueberry muffins

Recipe for GF Blueberry (Boston Blizzard) Muffins below

Happy #Blizzard2015! Does anyone else think that’s a ridiculous hashtag? It’s only January and we’re calling this *the* blizzard Looking over my computer, past five lit candles out onto a snowy, blizzarding back gardenof 2015? As my partner would say, “The Jew in me thinks we’re jinxing this”. I’m home alone today as dear hubby was called into his job; thankfully, he’s getting paid overtime (aka. hazard pay for driving in whiteout weather under a state driving ban). This morning I’ve successfully let the dog out (and convinced her to come back inside), baked a new GF Blueberry Muffin Recipe, shoveled a foot of snow with my 63-year old upstairs neighbor, made a plan to shovel this afternoon and overnight, and sat down to blog. This afternoon also holds some work. I’ve got a pretty beautiful vantage point from the kitchen table, so I’m hoping to hang out here with my computer, candles and country music as long as possible.

Bryce was truly insane this morning. When I opened the back door the snow was above the doorstop. She stepped out into the snow, grinned at me, and promptly flipped onto hIMG_4630er back and rolled over. I could not convince that pup to pee. She was too busy playing. So, I dragged her inside and out onto the front porch where she almost keeled over with joy at the sight of the snow. After bounding down the foot-deep in snow stairs she romped around, smiling the whole time- except when I told her to come in (see thumbnail- she is very serious and not happy with me). I promised her we’d go out again to shovel, so…. I think that convinced her. 😉 And yes, when we did shovel she was out there with me trying to eat the shovel as I threw snow into piles and, oft, atop her.

IMG_4631

Before shIMG_4627oveling I’d started a blueberry muffin recipe that I popped in to bake while heading outside- phone timer set for 24 minutes so I’d have enough time to get inside, shake off my boots and pull the muffins out the oven. Talk about muti-tasking… This recipe was (once again) an adaptation. I started with my Mixed-up Blueberry Streusel Muffins recipe and decided to make a gluten-free version.

As I read through the original recipe I laughed, remembering that I’d forgotten to include enough liquids the first time around and had to compensate mid recipe. “Well, at least I know what I’m doing now,” I thought. Poor thought.

The recipe went well for the first ten minutes. I relied on a 50/50 chickpea flour/GF all-purpose flour blend I’ve used in the past for cookies. I’d pulled all the ingredients, prepped the dry goods in a medium glass bowl and was about to mix the wet ingredients in a small bowl when I realized that I’d used a 1/2 tablespoon  measure for the baking soda instead of a 1/2 teaspoon measure. Oops. First I laughed. Then, I turned to Google.Keep calm and bake on

I quickly looked up every fix possible and was met each time with the answer: just adjust the recipe to compensate. Which, for me meant doubling the recipe. Ouch. [Sidenote: I did find an interesting article on the difference between baking powder and baking soda in pancakes]

So, back to doubling dry goods I went. When I returned to wet goods, I realized that I had no canola oil. So, yet another substitution: melted butter.

At this point, I was afraid for my recipe. Believe me.

And yet, when I returned inside after 24 minutes of shoveling, pulled out the golden muffins and smelt their yummy crumbliness, I felt okay. And, after an additional 20 minutes of shoveling I was so very glad for a glass of water followed by a slightly cooled yet still warm blueberry muffin and a cup of coffee.

I’d make these again- but not so many! This recipe made 24. I’ve managed to gift 6 already to neighbors. I imagine I’ll do some more deliveries this afternoon and then freeze the rest for future breakfasts as part of Frugal ’15 (Hubby and I made a commitment to be as financially responsible as possible this year).


GF Blueberry (Boston Blizzard) Muffins (makes 24)

Muffins

  • 1 1/4 cups GF all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cups chickpea flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tbsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 8 tbsp butter (melted and cooled)
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened plain almond milk
  • 1 cup low-fat ricotta
  • 2 eggs (room temperature)
  • 4 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups blueberries (frozen)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit
  • Pull out two (glass) mixing bowls ( medium and large).
  • In the largest mixing bowl, measure out the muffin dry ingredients (*Note: Always spoon out flour into the cup measure; if you scoop the flour with the cup measure you’ll pack the flour and risk measuring out too much).
  • Whisk together dry ingredients. Pan of cooled muffins sitting  on a baking board in front of five candles and a cup of coffee
  • In the medium mixing bowl, measure out the muffin wet ingredients. Whisk together.
  • Create a well in the muffin dry ingredients (in the large mixing bowl). You can do this by holding the tip of a spatula in the middle of the bowl at an angle and rotating the bowl clockwise. You should end up with the dry ingredients stacked along the edges of the bowl and a hole or “well” in the center.
  • Pour the wet ingredients into the well. Using a firm spatula or wooden spoon, mix ingredients together until just combined. (Note: DO NOT over-mix- this will over-activate the baking soda/baking flour combo and lead to chewy muffins. Over-mixing also messes with the amount of bubbles/carbon dioxide in the batter, which may cause the mix to bake unevenly and/or create more holes in the final product.)
  • Add frozen blueberries- mix until just combined. (Note: Really, DO NOT over-mix unless you want purple-grey batter. As Halved muffin displaying crumbly insideyou scoop out the muffin mix into the pans the blueberries will be distributed pretty evenly.)
  • Dish mixture into greased 12-item muffin pan (I coated min with cooking spray for ease).
  • Place tray of muffins in oven and bake for 24-28 minutes, or until the muffins are turning golden and a knife inserted into the middle comes out clean.(Note: If you’re using frozen blueberries, it’ll be closer to 28 minutes. If you’re using fresh blueberries, you’ll need less time.)
  • Remove from oven. Cool in the pan for 2-5 minutes (until you can touch them), then use a small spatula to remove muffins from tray. Place on a wire cooling rack. (Note: If you leave the muffins in the pan too long, the moisture from the cooling process will make the bottoms chewy).
  • Serve warm (butter optional) and enjoy!

REMEMBER: Enjoy yourself while baking. This recipe didn’t go perfectly, but the results are pretty darned good for a GF muffin sans xanthan gum (or other binding substitute). I’ve learned from making my sister-in-law’s challah that thinking happy and loving thoughts while you’re baking is essential. For baking challah, it’s a spiritual process. For muffin-creating, it’s a joyful adventure.

My first time baking (and blogging about) my sis-in-law’s challah recipe: On entering a time of dangerous opportunity

My last blizzard (Nemo) post: On seeking the consistency of Shabbos 

One comment

  1. Hahaha! Great post!!

Leave a Reply

Amanda Michelle Jones

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Connector of People & Resources

Running with science

The science of healthy living

Clementine Morrigan

Clementine Morrigan

chanyado

Chanyado. Shade. Respite from the sun. A place under the tree to rest my head, and wiggle my toes out in the sun.

MC795

taking "data-to-action" to improve adolescent health

