Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Oat Cookies

Recipe for Chocolate Chip Oat Cookies below.

This weekend I was struck with a desire to bake cookies; specifically, oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. Being that I’m in an “only gluten-free flours in the kitchen” period, and that I’ve never made a GF Oat Cookie before, I spent an hour of my Saturday afternoon in research mode.

After scanning recipes including Rachel Ray reader Laura Leggett’s Easy Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip cookie to my gal Martha Stewart’s butter-decadent Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookie, I came upon Ambitious Kitchen‘s BEST Gluten Free Chocolate Chip cookie recipe. And really, who can resist going after the BEST? Well, I certainly can’t.

Even better, the recipe called for chickpea/garbanzo flour with which I’ve had luck before when using an almond flour/chickpea flour blend for cookies. But, the recipe needed adapting to fit my oatmeal desire and my love for butter.

I decided to go heavy on the chickpea flour and light on the oatmeal for the first time round. In general, GF baked goods tend to the crumbly side if they’ve no xanthan/guar gum in them. Oatmeal is not a “binder”, thus potentially increasing the crumble issue. Additionally, oats make a recipe heavier and chickpea flour is a heavy flour already, so I wanted to be thoughtful about the cookie density.

To address the density issue, I opted for a butter blend. When you cream room temperature butter with sugar at a fast pace, it lets air into the mixture and creates a fluffiness that oil (or melted butter) cannot. I worked from a (hotly debated– read the comments) 1-1 ratio for butter/oil substitution, which would called for 2/3 cup butter). However, because I only had one stick of unsalted butter at room temperature (1/2 cup), I decided to add in a wee bit of canola oil (specifically, 2 Tbsp and 2 tsp). I know, I’m a super scientific baker.

For half of the cookies I made simple oatmeal chocolate chip (at the spouse’s request). For the second half, I added walnuts (because I love them). Out the oven these cookies are slightly crisp on the outer edges but chewy everywhere else. They’re tasty warm (with melted chocolate goodness) or cooled off (especially with a glass of unsweetened almond milk). I hope you enjoy the recipe!

Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Oat Cookies

IngredientsSideview of four cookies on cutting board

  • 1 1/2 cups chickpea/garbanzo flour
  • 1/2 cup GF oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter (room temperature)
  • 2 Tbsp + 2 tsp canola oil
  • 1 1/4 cups dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chip minis
  • 1/2 cup walnut pieces

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together chickpea flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, and salt; set dry mix aside
  • In the Kitchen Aide bowl (or a large glass bowl in which you can use a hand-held electric mixer) cream together butter, oil brown sugar at a medium speed until smooth (about 1 minute). Turn on high for one minute to fluff up. Add in egg, egg yolk, and vanilla; beat at medium speed for 2 minutes until creamy.
  • Add dry mixture slowly to butter mixture; mix on a low speed (or by hand with a wooden spoon) until just combined.
  • Slowly add in chocolate chips.
  • Using teaspoons, scoop dough into 2-inch balls and drop on cookie sheet. Leave 2 inches between (these cookies spread!).
  • After using half the mixture, add in 1/2 cup walnut pieces to the remaining dough. Scoop out cookies as directed above.
  • Bake 9-11 minutes (mine took 10 minutes  even) until the cookie edges begin to turn golden.
  • Remove from oven and let cool at 3-5 minutes on baking sheet.
  • Once the cookies have set, transfer with a flat spatula to a wire cooking rack.
  • Makes 16-20 cookies depending on how generously you scoop!
  • Enjoy!

Notes

  • Don’t over bake unless you enjoy crispy cookies.
  • If you don’t enjoy flattened cookies, chill the dough for 10+ minutes before scooping out the mix.
  • You don’t have to use mini chips, but I love them for a “chocolate all the way throughout” experience.
  • You could sub out pecans and toffee chips for a fun nutty-caramel flavor.

 

Leave a Reply

all-purpose and semi-sweet

A solid 70% of my diary, and all the snacks we'll ever need.

Running with science

The science of healthy living

Clementine Morrigan

Writer, Artist, Educator, Working Witch

chanyado

Chanyado. Shade. Respite from the sun. A place under the tree to rest my head, and wiggle my toes out in the sun.

MC795

taking "data-to-action" to improve adolescent health

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

