Mostly MREs: Meals Ready to Eat

MRE recipes following post include: Crockpot Apple-Oatmeal (link to recipe), Breakfast Egg-Cakes, Nutty Quinoa Pancakes (link to recipe), Veggie-Tofu Skillet, and Garlicky-Parmesan Quinoa Patties.

After yet another week of eating take-out, processed cakes, and far too many miniature candy bars, I realized that I miss real food. I often find myself in a catch-22: I like home-cooked meals, I like to prepare meals, and yet I’m often too busy or wiped to make them mid-week. I’m also addicted to sugar. The more I eat disjointedly, the more I find myself sugar-ing up, which then crashes out my body, mind, and emotions. At that point I feel less inclined to cook, and so the wandering goes on and on (with the occasional home-cooking oasis in the middle). It’s an awful cycle.

This summer I made a large batch of balsamic chicken with sun-dried tomatoes and arugula. I tossed it with tortellini before portioning it up into ziplock containers and freezing it. The result: quick, easy, home-cooked dinners after a 6-minute defrost. Two weeks ago I made Pumpkin Enchiladas and, in addition to popping two in the fridge for consumption that week, I froze six for later. They’ve made great lunches.

On Friday evening I realized that I needed to do more of this type of cooking. But, instead of making just one dish, I needed to prep multiple dishes to get me through varied meals. So, before bed I sat down an devised an MRE cooking plan (for those of you unfamiliar with the military, MREs are “Meals Ready to Eat”, and I daresay that mine are yummier than the military versions I’ve tried). Granted, my cooking list ended up being far too outlandish, and I didn’t have time to cook everything. However, I’ll be continuing my MRE-making this week with a Quick n’ Dirty Chili and a pesto/artichoke/sun-dried tomato chicken.

I awoke Sunday morning to a pot of strong half-caf coffee, turned on the Blues, and began cooking at 8:30am. I worked through until 11:15am- at which point I stopped and enjoyed brunch. During my 2.75 hours of prep and cooking I turned out three breakfast and two main dishes. With the addition of the chicken and chili that I’ll make, as well as some frozen balsamic-tomato soup and pumpkin enchiladas, I’ll be set for a couple of weeks. And, if I want to cook something in the meantime I will not feel the pressure of “having” to make breakfast/lunch/dinner.

Things I noticed while cooking:

  1. While I love fresh vegetables, frozen bags of veggies make the prep time go quickly. I especially appreciate Trader Joe’s bags of broccoli florets, roasted corn, and kale.
  2. Recipes are adaptable. I had too much sweet potato left over from my Egg-Cakes and so into the Veggie-Tofu Skillet it went. This was a great complement to the salty soy sauce that flavored the skillet-dish.
  3. Hearty breakfasts are important to me. I also like diversity. I’m looking forward to my multi-options this week.
  4. I need more mini-plasticware (e.g., 1 cup-round dishes for oatmeal).
  5. I heart Trader Joe’s Garlic-Sea Salt.
  6. On the topic of garlic, I like it a lot. I much prefer fresh to pre-diced garlic; however, I keep the latter in the fridge just in case.
  7. Listening to music while cooking is fantastic. I love dancing around my kitchen 🙂 You should try it. Go on. Do it.

l hope you enjoy the MREs. I’ll add another Quick n’ Dirty post later this week!

Crockpot Apple-Oatmeal

From Chocolate Covered Kale

Yield: 3 1/2 – 4 cups

Notes:

  • I did not have steel cut oatmeal and so my crockpot cooking time with regular oatmeal was about 2.25 hours on low.
  • Instead of brown sugar, I like to drizzle my oatmeal with 1 tbsp maple syrup!

 Breakfast Egg-CakesEgg Cake ingredients

  • 1 large sweet potato
  • 8 eggs
  • 1 cup broccoli florets, finely chopped
  • 4 scallions, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp Trader Joes Garlic-Sea Salt blend (or 1/2 tsp sea salt, 1/4 tsp garlic)
  • Cupcake tray and liners

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.Prepping Egg Cakes in the baking tray
  • Steam sweet potato for approx. 6 minutes in microwave.
  • Crack eggs into a medium sized bowl, whisk with a splash of cold water.
  • Add broccoli, scallions and garlic salt. Whisk egg mixture.
  • Line cupcake tray with paper liners.
  • Place approx. 3/4 oz of steamed sweet potato in bottom of each cupcake liner. Mash sweet potato with a fork so it forms a base for the cupcake.
  • Scoop in a scant 1/4 cup of egg mixture; divide any leftover egg mix evenly between tray.
  • Bake for 25 mins until almost set.
  • Broil on HI for 1-2 mins until golden on top.
  • Yield: 12 Egg-Cakes

Nutty Quinoa Pancakes

Veggie-Tofu SkilletVeggie-Tofu Skillet Ingredients

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of basmati brown rice, cooked
  • 1 block extra firm tofu, pressed
  • 1 cup sweet potato, steamed and diced
  • 1 cup kale, diced
  • 1 cup cauliflower florets, diced
  • 1 cup carrots, shredded
  • 5 scallions, finely diced
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, finely diced
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce, reduced-sodium
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp salt (depending on how salty you like it)
  • Black pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp canola oil

DirectionsFinished Veggie-Tofu Skillet

  • Warm up cast-iron skillet to medium-low heat, add canola oil.
  • Add scallions and garlic, sautee until turning translucent.
  • Add tofu, shredded carrot atop, cauliflower and kale.
  • Drizzle 3 tbsp soy sauce atop vegetables.
  • Allow mix to cook until tofu is browning, then mix skillet contents.
  • Cook until carrots and cauliflower are cooked al dente and kale is wilting.
  • Mix-in rice and sweet potato.
  • Cook for additional 3-5 mins.
  • Pull off heat, serve and enjoy!
  • Yield: Four 1 1/2 cup servings

Garlicky-Parmesan Quinoa PattiesQuinoa patties frying in skillet

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quinoa, cooked
  • 1 egg
  • 3 scallions, finely diced
  • 2 garlic gloves, finely diced
  • 1/3 cup parmesan/romano blend cheese
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs (I used Italian-herb style)
  • pinch salt (optional)
  • 1 tbsp canola oil

Directions

  • In a cast-iron skillet over a medium-low heat, sautee scallions and garlic until translucent.
  • Place quinoa, cheese and egg in a bowl. Add scallions and garlic. Mix.
  • Slowly mix in breadcrumbs.
  • Using approximately 1/4 cup mixture, form small palm-sized patties.
  • Heat skillet to medium.
  • Fry patties in skillet.
  • Yield: 5 patties
  • Note: Serve atop a balsamic-green salad topped with a poached egg, or with pesto chicken and steamed asparagus. Yum!
Final products featuring portioned out Veggie-Tofu bake, Egg Cakes, Garlicky-Parmesan Quinoa Patties, Nutty Quinoa Pancakes and Apple-Oatmeal

Mostly MREs: My Sunday morning bounty!

One comment

  1. Thanks for the share! Amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

www.amandamichellejones.com/

The Universe is my Classroom: Every encounter is an opportunity to both teach and learn

Running with science

The science of healthy living

Clementine Morrigan

Writer, Artist, Working Witch

chanyado

Chanyado. Shade. Respite from the sun. A place under the tree to rest my head, and wiggle my toes out in the sun.

MC795

taking "data-to-action" to improve adolescent health

