Quick n’ Dirty Version: Pumpkin Black Bean “Enchiladas”

Recipe for Quick n’ Dirty Version: Pumpkin Black Bean “Enchiladas” follows at end of post.

So, I came home yesterday evening with the full intent to make Chocolate-chip pumpkin muffins. I’d been thinking about them since Sunday morning; cinnamon-spiced with walnuts and dark chocolate. Heavenly. After an enthusiastic day of teaching, dog-walking, and therapy-attending I figured that they’d be the perfect post-therapy-therapy: baking *and* dessert.

Then my stomach growled.

My stomach growled and I realized that I was hungry.

I realized that I was hungry for salty.

I also realized that, apart from this Shabbat’s balsamic-tomato soup, I had no meals ready for this week’s lunches.

First, I fed the hunger with a wee baked tortilla chip and melted cheese snack. [not] Surprisingly, my bf woke up just in time to partake. Suspicious? Perhaps. As we were snacking and chatting I realized that I wanted to cook- not bake. Any yet, I didn’t want to put too much effort into it. I also still wanted pumpkin- and salty.

So… I looked up a beautiful recipe for Pumpkin and Black Bean Enchiladas with Mole sauce. This recipe is truly artistic; sprouted, vegan ingredients individually spiced, herbed and dressed. Thoughtful, complementary sweet and spicy protein and carbohydrate elements. Served layered- guacamole upon mole upon enchilada upon quinoa.

I did not make this recipe. Instead, I made a quick and dirty version, which came out a satisfyingly simple dish yet complex enough to soothe my pumpkin-fall-savory craving. And, it was quick enough that I may still bake today 🙂

Quick n’ Dirty Version: Pumpkin-Black Bean “Enchiladas” Pumpkin Enchiladas roasting in pan

  • 6 flour tortillas
  • 1 15oz can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 15oz can pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie mix!!)
  • 1 – 1.5 cups of roasted corn (I used Trader Joe’s frozen roasted corn)
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin, ground
  • 3/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 – 3/4 tsp chili pepper, ground (spice it to your happy place)
  • 1/2 tsp tsp cinnamon
  • 1 10oz can of diced tomatoes with green chiles, drained of liquid
  • 1 12oz ar peach salsa (I used Trader Joe’s Smoky Peach Salsa)
  • 3/4 cup shredded Mexican blend cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F
  2. Spray a large glass casserole dish with cooking spray
  3. Defrost corn
  4. Mix pumpkin in a medium glass dish with spices
  5. Add black beans and corn to pumpkin mix
  6. Spoon 1/2 cup of pumpkin-bean-corn filling into each tortilla
  7. Measure out 2 tbsp shredded cheese on top of filling
  8. Roll up tortillas and place upside down in the casserole dish
  9. Spread tomatoes and salsa over the top of tortillas
  10. Bake for 40 mins uncovered
  11. Enjoy your “enchiladas”!
  12. Note: if you have more time, or are inclined to make more time, I would sauté 1 cup white onion, diced, and 2 cloves of garlic until golden and add them to the filling to round out the flavor. Yum.
One comment

  1. […] it. The result: quick, easy, home-cooked dinners after a 6-minute defrost. Two weeks ago I made Pumpkin Enchiladas and, in addition to popping two in the fridge for consumption that week, I froze six for later. […]

Leave a Reply

all-purpose and semi-sweet

A solid 70% of my diary, and all the snacks we'll ever need.

Running with science

The science of healthy living

Clementine Morrigan

Writer, Artist, Educator, Working Witch

chanyado

Chanyado. Shade. Respite from the sun. A place under the tree to rest my head, and wiggle my toes out in the sun.

MC795

taking "data-to-action" to improve adolescent health

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

